What am I Waiting For?

23 Sep


At the moment I feel just a little bit like I’m frantically treading water, trying to keep my head above the waves and getting more and more exhausted by the day.

I know the things I need to do in order to feel more in control, more organised. I know I need to get my house in order, my brain de-cluttered, all my ducks in a row and I also know that the best way for me to achieve this is to start with a list.

Easy, you say. Hmmm, not so much lately. I can’t even put pen to paper and start to write a list!

I’ve always been a procrastinator. My motto has always been ‘Why do something today when you can easily put it off until tomorrow!’ But it’s not even procrastination that’s delaying me now. I feel as though I’m waiting for something. Something that’s going to spur me on, give me focus and make me determined to accomplish my goals.

There are enough motivating factors there if I really look at it.

Aidan
Biggest ever motivation to get off my bum and do something with my life. I want to be the best example I can to him and to inspire him to be the best that he can be.

Health
Something’s got to give and I’m hoping it won’t be my heart. The thought of not being around to see Aidan get married and have children of his own scares me.

Finances
Well, we all need money, don’t we?

So, with these 3 huge motivators why am I still stood at the bus stop checking the timetable?

This post was written for Josie’s Writing Workshop #36 over at Sleep is For The Weak

I chose prompt 5. Waiting inspired by lots of lovely ladies waiting for the stork to pay them a visit!

6 Responses to “What am I Waiting For?”

  1. Tasha (Coding Mamma) September 23, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Good luck with stopping waiting and jumping on board!

    • sezi13 September 24, 2010 at 9:07 am #

      Thank you! Just hope I jump on the right bus and don’t get on one going in the wrong direction! (Might be taking the metaphor a bit far now!)

  2. gaelikaa September 24, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    Did this prompt too, different approach entirely.

    I like your idea about the lists. I’m actually very much in the same place where you are. I’ll start with a list. Thanks for the inspiration….

    • sezi13 September 24, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      Lists have always helped me in the past so it’s very unusual for me to find myself in this position of not even being able to start one! Hope it helps!

  3. Wes Johnston September 24, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Hello. My recommendation for you and hubby is a weekend away. Don’t think about it, just do it. Just those couple of days and a few quid spent will refresh you both 🙂 That’s what I reckon anyways 🙂 Cheers, J (oops, mean W)

    • sezi13 September 24, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      Thanks J (oops, sorry, W!) We definitely need a holiday and are planning on a week away somewhere hot & sunny next Spring. We’re away for 2 nights in October but that’s not really relaxing as it’s a society thing that hubby organises so bound to be a few stresses and problems that need sorting. Not sure whether we’ll be able to arrange anything else although it would be good. Might see what deals are around.

Leave a Reply

