Tidy house, tidy mind…

30 Sep

As anyone who knows me will testify, I have an obsession with things being clean & tidy that is bordering on the obsessive.

If my house isn’t exactly how I want it I feel very depressed.  Things not being spotless or in the correct places makes me feel out of control and that my whole life is in a mess and as for my books, well, don’t get me started on that!  Let’s just say that if they’re not in alphabetical order you’d best fetch me an oxygen mask!

I realise that this is not a good thing.  Sure, we all want our homes to be clean, who wouldn’t? But, with a toddler in the house a certain amount of untidiness is probably completely normal. Not here!

I have tried to become a bit more relaxed about it all as I don’t want Aidan growing up with an unhealthy attitude to these things.  He already gets a bit upset if he drops some crayons or something similar shouting ‘Mess Mummy, mess!’ so I want him to be more chilled about that kind of stuff, he’s a child and shouldn’t be worrying too much about tidyness.

However, my relaxing went a bit far and I was becoming very down about things not being where they should.  So, on Tuesday morning, I dropped Aidan off at his Nanny & Grandad’s and started my mission.  Well, 2 hours later the house was more or less straight and I felt 100% better.  I didn’t only feel better about the house, I felt better about other things too.  It gave me a much more positive outlook and I feel more able to cope with whatever is thrown at me this week!  Now, I just need to shake off the dreaded cold I seem to coming down with…..

What about you?  Anyone else feel that if their house is cluttered so is their state of mind?

Image Credit

5 Responses to “Tidy house, tidy mind…”

  1. Anna September 30, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I’m exactly the same! My house regularly ends up in abit of a mess (toddler made I might add! lol) and I feel al over the place! I much prefer everything being put away, in the right place. and nice and clean. I absolutely agree with teh caption *Tidy House = Tidy Mind*

    • sezi13 September 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      Thanks Anna! I know my Mum is the same so maybe I get it from her, in fact I think that’s where I first heard the saying ‘Tidy House, Tidy Mind’ – from her! I think it just helps (especially with the little ones creating havoc) to have a sense of order and control over at least one part of my life!

  2. Jaymee September 30, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I wish I could be like you 😦 lol

    • sezi13 September 30, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      Believe me, there are plenty of times when it’s a complete PITA! I frequently cancel people coming round because I feel that the house is not pristine enough. They’re friends, they won’t care!!! I wish I could be a bit more relaxed about it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Control Freak….. « Happy Mummy, Happy Child, Happy Life! - March 24, 2011

    […] sure this will not come as a surprise to you, given my previous post about my OCD, but I am a control […]

Leave a Reply

