How would you sum me up? The 1 Word Meme

14 Mar

I’ve been very kindly tagged by Kate at The Five Fs to join in with Mummy From The Heart’s 1 Word Meme.

The idea behind it is that we are all guilty of being far too critical of ourselves and choosing to concentrate on the negatives rather than the positives.   I’m particularly bad at this and will always beat myself up about the things I haven’t done rather than patting myself on the back for the things I have done.  Mummy From The Heart’s explanation of how she came up with the idea for this meme is this:

This got me thinking about an email I received a few years back, one of those circular things that I normally hate but this one I loved and have never forgotten.  It was about the power of positive affirmations and how knowing what positive things others think of you can boost your own self-esteem.  It talked of an inspirational teacher who got all her children to write one positive word down to describe the other children in the class and then they had to hand them in.  The teacher then collated all the positive words for each child into a special sheet for them and handed it to them to read and keep.  They learnt that their peers saw them in ways they had never imagined and it had an immense effect on them.  The story goes that one of them died and a number of them attended the funeral and it was found that they all still had their lists 20 or so years later as they had been really touched by this loving gesture.  Did this really happen?  Who knows, but I love the sentiment of this story and therefore it does not matter to me if it was real.

Well, what about if us bloggers and virtual friends did something similar?  How marvellous would we all feel to learn these new facets of ourselves that we did not know existed.  Someone may say I am inspirational (another one I have heard about myself a few times recently) and me being me I would say ‘no not me’ but what have I done there?  Rubbished their opinion and that is not right, only they know if I have actually inspired them to do something.  If people are kind enough to give us a compliment we should be gracious enough to accept it…. and why not go one step further and actually go out and ask for it?

Well that is what I want us all to do.  I am creating a meme, called the 1 Word Meme and I would love for every one of us to be able to collate all the the positive words left by our real life friends, virtual friends and fellow bloggers so that we each have a sheet of positive affirmations to treasure and boost our self-esteem.

I’m really trying hard lately not to be such a pessimist or to give myself such a hard time so, although it goes against my nature, I’m going to ask you to describe me, in the comments below, in one word.  I look forward to reading what you all make of me!

As this is a meme, I’ll tag some other lovely bloggers.  Apologies if you’ve already been tagged!

Katie at What Katie’s Kids Did Next

Emma at Mummy Musings

Helen at Icklebabe

Sezi

x

13 Responses to “How would you sum me up? The 1 Word Meme”

  1. Kate March 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Oooh this is hard! I’m going to go with….

    Friendly.

    X

    • sezi13 March 15, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      That’s lovely, thank you x

  2. TheBoyandMe March 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Down-to-earth.

    • claireejknits March 14, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      Warm-hearted

    • sezi13 March 15, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      I do try to be! Thank you x

    • sezi13 March 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      I was brought up in a very practical family. Thank you x

  3. Kate March 14, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Thanks for doing this.

    I would say caring.

    • sezi13 March 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      Thank you Kate x

  4. Michelle Twin Mum March 14, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Hiya, We have not met before so I do not feel I can really comment but well done for taking part. Don’t forget to ask your family/ facebook friends or email it out so you can make a nice big list of positive affirmations.

    Mich x

    • sezi13 March 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      Thank you Michelle, I will ask my friends x

  5. Emma @ Mummy Musings March 16, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Lovely 🙂

  6. Mother Badger March 28, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Loving

Leave a Reply

